Meter-Maid Ruined My Day!!!

Kvon Dodge Charger

Last week I had my windows tinted (extra dark just how I like ’em). It took two hours and the car battery drained while they were doing it from having the doors open and interior lamps on. They quickly charged the battery back up and I was on my way. Then a few days yesterday I pulled into a parking spot and went to put money in the meter. It was out of order, so I thought to myself, “What a lucky break, I don’t have to pay to park here now”.

I left the car running so I could keep the radio playing and the air conditioner on while I jumped in the backseat and got on my laptop to answer a few emails.

Through my tinted windows I saw a parking meter attendant walk up to my car then the meter. I thought, “This guy will see it’s out of order and leave me alone”. Next thing I know he is slapping a ticket under my windshield. I jumped out and said “Can I help you?” in a very condescending Beverly Hills voice.

He was surprised I was in the car since he could not see me and said… “oh, uhhh? No.”
“What is this ticket for??? The meter is out of order!” I demanded.
As he scurried to his metermaid mobile he called out, “It’s for leaving the engine idling in an unattended vehicle.
“Unattended… I was sitting in the back!!!”
“Well if you’re not in the front… it’s unattended. Take it up with the court.”

And with that he motored away. I’m not an angry man, but I was furious. I inspected the ticket and thought “$40 for this!” Defeated, I turned off the car so as not to get more tickets. I left my radio on and pounded out 10 more minutes of emails. I then got in the front seat turned the key….

AND THE BATTERY WAS DEAD.

I called for a tow truck which cost $40 to come jump my car. So the $%#@damn expired meter cost me $80.

4 Responses to “Meter-Maid Ruined My Day!!!”

  1. Tara Maxfield Says:

    Hey Kevan! We haven’t seen you in a few years and now your name is popping up all over the place. Just wanted to say hi! Your new career looks exciting, hope it is treating you well.

    Take care and hope to see you in the near future…

    Tara Maxfield

  2. Puja Says:

    Hi…wow that is horrible!!! The parking meter maid man shouldn’t have given you a ticket, he was just being a jerk… AND to have your battery die? Wow sounds like the days I have…lol…did you steal my life for a day? haha

  3. Ashley bell Says:

    Is this story for-real? That’s crazy. It’s just shitty how that random stuff happens, huh?? Hope all is welll.

  4. Rachel Ako Says:

    My body shop drained my battery too a few weeks ago. They left my lights on all weekend. They jumped my car and it died a little later. Not good when its July in Vegas and you’re not moving. I had to get a new battery too. So stressful!

Leave a Reply

